“Informed Simplicity”

Image

This keeps coming back. On my MA TESOL, in my readings, on the job/in the classroom, and now again as I’m thinking about being a teacher trainer and engaging fruitfully with the same confusion and discovery that I went through on the CELTA course. I’m certainly feeling some anxiety about my first input sessions…not to mention TP feedback. Will I be able to access and animate that sense of ‘informed simplicity’ that seems like the consistent hallmark of…I don’t know…learnability? I’m going to print this graphic out and keep it somewhere handy.

Does it speak to you as it speaks to me?

As it happens, I first saw this in the book ‘101 Things I Learned in Architecture School’ as it lay on the coffee table of my CouchSurfing host last year in Dallas for the TESOL convention (was also in the thick of it as I tried to solidify the concept for my thesis project…which may have gotten stuck in the 1st and 2nd stages much more than I would have liked). My wonderful TESOL Prof Dr. Steven J. Molinsky talked about “informed simplicity” in different words throughout my MA.

Of course, this leads right back to one of the other handful of blogs I’ve found/been reading:

http://teachertrainingunplugged.com/

On the ‘front page’ of that blog Anthony Gaughan has this Marcus Aurelius quote, and I think most architects worth their CouchSurfing salt will concur with it:

Most of what we say and do is not essential.

If you can eliminate it, you will have more time, and more tranquility.

Ask yourself at every moment: ‘is this necessary?’

BTW, there’s a PDF of ‘101 Things I Learned in Architecture School’ online. Hope I’m not tripping some ethical wire here, but it’s such a fantastic read for anyone, not only Architecture students I’ll go ahead and linky link: http://fpd-bd.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/101-things-i-learned-at-architecture-school.pdf

Having posted that, the least I can do is provide Amazon link to BUY the damn thing (click cover image for link):

101

This entry was posted in Diary Entries Newbieness, Idea Bag Newbieness, w/ Photos, too! Newbieness. Bookmark the permalink.

Go on! Say what you're thinking...

