Week 1, Day 3

Dear Diary,

Whew! Lots happen today. Or maybe it was just one thing, but it felt really full, maybe full of little things. What I’m thinking about is:

Trainees seemed energetic and engaged in a really…realway. There was a…flow. Amongst and between them. Yay!

I nearly cried with joy during TPFB. Why? I was

A) really happy to see a high degree of good solid *decision making* in the classes. In TP2!!! In feedback I talked a bit about ‘training to become a skillful decision maker; this is the real goal between the lines of more concrete CELTA curricular material’ and they really responded to it

B) also just thrilled with the TP students, and what a great opportunity these trainees have to work with really open, engaged students. They are lucky to have pulled this group, but it’s not all luck – they’ve established really nice rapport, and I’m thinking my initial demo lesson contributed/set up this circumstance sufficiently

C) I’ve just been really overwhelmed and/or passionately focused recently (it’s both) and I think even little wins are really making me feel good

D) I saw multiple corrective feedback moves…in TP2! Don’t get me started….I’ll start getting damp eyed again!

What else…just seemed like flow today. I’m looking forward to these guys and gals’ development. I feel like they’re poised for greatness!!

This is joyful….why NOT let yourself bask in the good vibes and precious experiences?

I’ve doing Receptive Skills 2 tomorrow, but Session 1 really banged so much home AND they’ve really dived into the SRT already…so, I’m using much of the session to do a ‘consolidate and seal’ week 1 skills and habits of mind with some stuff from the nice DVD from Harmer’s How To Teach English book and lots of reflection on learning. Yay, again.

This entry was posted in Diary Entries Newbieness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 1, Day 3

  1. springcait says:

    Hi Matthew, I am so interested to read your diary, it evokes some thoughts and reflections about me as a trainee and my course. Please carry on!

    • Matthew says:

      I shall! In large part because of your comment here. That’s exactly the kind of thing that makes me interested to write this!!!

Go on! Say what you're thinking...

