What is discouraging after CELTA?

An EXCELLENT post I need to share and position here for more comments soon. Wow.

iamlearningteaching

It is a spontaneous post and the list is obviously not complete, but here are some issues that drive me crazy.

  • I don’t have time to plan properly therefore I encounter various problems due to insufficient planning and feel awful exiting a classroom. Since CELTA it has been a couple of times when I was more or less happy with my lesson.
  • I spend all my free time planning and feel overwhelmed by work. My acquaintance has recently asked me what I do for entertainment, I said “Work or read Tweeter (that is about work as well)”. Frankly speaking, I love my job, I enjoy teaching, but sometimes it’s too much.
  • Tons of information including non-CELTA-way of teaching shatter my unstable foundation, unstable – due to the lack of proper experience. By ‘proper experience’ I mean lessons which I am satisfied with. That leads to the feeling of trying to…

View original post 234 more words

This entry was posted in Diary Entries Newbieness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is discouraging after CELTA?

  1. Anastasiia says:

    I completely agree with you about lack of free time. My husband and I worked in Russia after our CELTA course. We started at 9am and finished at 9pm. All what we did was teaching-preparing-reading ELT stuff- surfing the internet. We both love teaching, but living like robots is too hard, as I start feeling that I’m a boring person who doesn’t even know what’s on in the theaters

Go on! Say what you're thinking...

